Casey Theriot | Associate Professor

Casey is an Associate Professor in the Department of Population Health and Pathobiology at NC State College of Veterinary Medicine. Her research focuses on gastrointestinal microbiology, metabolomics, and infectious diseases.

LinkedIn | Google Citations | Phone: +1 (919) 513-0711

Caroline Perkins | Animal Research Technician

Caroline joined the Theriot Lab in November 2021. They earned their BS in Animal Science at NC State in 2016, and are now back and working towards a MS in Animal Science. Caroline manages all the in vivo experiments for the Theriot Lab. | Phone: +1 (919) 515-5233


Samantha Kisthardt | Graduate Student

Samantha joined the Theriot Lab in December 2021. She completed her BS in Microbiology at NC State and is a 2021-2022 Genetics and Genomics Scholar. Samantha studies how nutrient use by commensal Clostridia affects secondary bile acid production and C. difficile colonization. | Phone: +1 (919) 515-5233

Sam McMillan | Graduate Student

Sam joined the Theriot lab in December 2019. He completed his BS in Microbiology at NC State. Sam is currently exploring how to design probiotics to deliver bile acid altering enzymes to the gastrointestinal tract. | Phone: +1 (919) 515-5233



Molly Vanhoy | Postbac Researcher

Molly joined the Theriot Lab in January 2021 as an undergraduate researcher. She graduated from NC State in 2022, majoring in Microbiology and minoring in Leadership in Agriculture and Life Sciences. Molly works on understanding growth conditions and competition between members of the gut microbiota and
C. difficile.


Lab alumni

  • Dr. Colleen Pike: postdoctoral fellow 2020-2022
  • Sana Khan: undergraduate researcher 2021-2022
  • Dr. Matthew Foley: postdoctoral fellow 2018-2022
  • Dr. Amber Reed: PhD candidate 2016-2021
  • Dr. Rajani Thanissery: research associate 2015-2021
  • Alissa Rivera: animal research technician 2016-2021
  • Gracie Vestal: undergraduate researcher 2019-2020
  • Garrison Allen: undergraduate researcher 2018-2020
  • Ruth Parsons: undergraduate researcher 2017-2020
  • Dr. Joshua Fletcher: postdoctoral fellow 2016-2020
  • Dr. Jenessa Winston: clinical investigator and PhD candidate 2015-2019
  • Ivy Gold: undergraduate researcher Summer 2019
  • Tommy Burdette: veterinary scholar’s program Summer 2018
  • Elissa Foss: research technician 2016-2017
  • Dr. Susan Gardner: postdoctoral fellow 2016-2017
  • Kevin Chang: veterinary scholar’s program Summer 2016
  • Allyson Patterson: undergraduate researcher Spring 2016
  • Kaitlyn George: undergraduate researcher Spring 2016